IMPORTANT UPDATE: The Idaho State Historical Society is currently open to the public. Click here for more information.
Official Government Website

Esto Perpetua Awards

Esto Perpetua Award Presentation 2021

This year, the Idaho State Historical Society (ISHS) is celebrating 140 years of serving Idahoans and protecting Idaho’s historical places, artifacts, and stories. To commemorate this anniversary, we are honoring the dedicated, passionate, Idaho organizations and citizens that care for, educate, and tell the story of Idaho and their community. Idaho stories are found in many forms and places, including museums, historical societies, archives, sites, structures, highway markers, artifacts, and more.

The Esto Perpetua Award takes its name from the state’s motto, “let it be perpetual” and for the past 22 years, the Idaho State Historical Society has recognized people and organizations who have preserved and promoted Idaho’s history through professional accomplishments, public service or volunteerism, and philanthropy.

Since the award was created in 1999, ISHS has recognized the inspiring local preservation efforts of more than 160 individuals and organizations throughout the state of Idaho. The work of an Esto Perpetua award reflects a lifetime of achievement and their commitment to and passion for Idaho and its history.

The 2021 Esto Perpetua awardees are:

  • Taft Tunnel Preservation Society, Wallace
  • Mary Schmidt, Grangeville
  • Steve Russell, Ames, IA
  • Jack and Belva Lawson, Grand View
  • Gerald (Jerry) Eichhorst, Boise
  • Hanako Wakatsuki-Chong, Twin Falls
  • Wood River Land Trust, Hailey
  • Jack Taylor, American Falls
  • Jerry Stoor, Henry
  • Luke Waldron, Malad City
  • Portneuf Pioneers, Pocatello
  • Judge William Stibal Pettite, Fair Oaks, CA



1999-2021 Esto Perpetua Honorees

2022 Esto Perpetua Nomination Packet will be available soon.

ver: 3.4.0 | last updated: