An extraordinary system of cultural and historical resources.


Idaho Heritage Cities

Idaho Heritage Cities were recognized by the Idaho State Historical Society and the Association of Idaho Cities for their work in preservation and interpretation of their cultural heritage.

The special designation as an Idaho Heritage City acknowledged the efforts undertaken by municipalities to preserve the unique fabric of their community, making it a distinctive place to live and work, and an attractive place for economic investment.

Selections for Idaho Heritage City status was awarded after a joint review of designated criteria by representatives of AIC and the Idaho State Historical Society.  A municipality granted Idaho Heritage City status received a decorative plaque for display in its City Hall or other designated location, as well as welcoming metal signs for display at entries to the city limits.

Here's a list of intriguing and interesting Idaho Heritage Cities.
Don't forget to stop and enjoy the sites and sounds of an
Idaho Heritage City on your next roadtrip.


        American Falls      


Caldwell - Challis - Coeur d'Alene         

Eagle - Emmett                 

Glenns Ferry

Hailey - Hayden

Idaho Falls - Ioan

Kamiah - Kellogg - Ketchum                  


Malad - Meridian - Moscow                   


Pierce - Pocatello - Post Falls                

Rathdrum - Rexburg - Riggins - Rupert                    

Salmon - Soda Springs - Spirit Lake

Twin Falls