An extraordinary system of cultural and historical resources.

Certified Local Government (CLG) Program

Learn More About the Certified Local Government Program in Idaho

A Closer Look

Wallace streetscape

Downtown Wallace, Idaho

Read more about how to become a CLG: 

CLG Program Handbook  

CLG Grants Manual

Current list of Certified Local Governments

Certified Local Governments (CLGs) are communities that have shown a commitment to historic preservation by adopting a local ordinance and creating a historic preservation commission.  The program is a dynamic partnership between local governments, the Idaho State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO), and the National Park Service (NPS), to assist diverse communities in preserving their unique historic character. This program provides responsive technical assistance and small grants to local governments seeking to preserve for future generations what is important from their past.

The CLG Program responds directly to the needs of many different kinds of local communities and links them to the national historic preservation program established by the National Historic Preservation Act. In recent years, the Idaho SHPO has distributed about $70,000 annually to city and county programs through the CLG grant program. Idaho currently has 35 communities who participate in the program.

How can my community become a CLG?

Cities, Counties and Tribes interested in becoming a CLG should call (208) 488-7471 or e-mail.

How can we apply for CLG grant funds?

Only Certified Local Governments are eligible to apply for the CLG  Grant funds. CLGs interested in applying should refer to the Idaho CLG Grant Manual for important information on eligible projects, important timelines, and application instructions. The Call for CLG Grant Applications is typically released on or about October 1st every year, with applications due by December 31st. Please contact Pete L’Orange at (208) 488-7471 or by email with any questions or for more information.