

## IDAHO STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY REFERENCE SERIES

## IDAHO INDIAN RESERVATIONS

Number 483

November 1970

**Nez Perce:** established by treaty of 29 April 1859 (signed at Walla Walla, 12 June 1855); reduced greatly in size by treaty of 20 April 1867 (signed by leaders of the bands whose lands were included in the small reservation, 9 June 1863, but, with one exception, not by the leaders of bands whose lands were excluded from the small reservation); opened for settlement by act of 15 August 1894.

**Coeur d'Alene:** established originally by proclamation of 14 June 1867 (the Indians declined to accept the boundaries); enlarged by proclamation of 8 November 1873 (in accordance with an agreement signed at Coeur d'Alene Mission, 28 July 1873); reduced in size by treaty of 3 March 1891 (signed 9 September 1887 at Desmet).

**Fort Hall**: established for the Boise and Bruneau Shoshoni by proclamation of 14 June 1867; designated also for the Fort Hall Bannock and Shoshoni by proclamation of 30 July 1869 as provided for by treaty of 16 February 1869 (signed at Fort Bridger, 3 July 1868); boundary revision provided for in a treaty signed at Fort Hall 7 November 1873; reduced in size and opened for settlement by act of 6 June 1900 (ratifying a treaty signed at Ross Fork 5 February 1898) and proclamation of 7 May 1902.

**Lemhi:** established by proclamation of 12 February 1875 (in lieu of a reservation provided in an unratified treaty signed at Virginia City, 24 September 1868); Indians removed to Fort Hall in 1907.

**Duck Valley:** established by proclamation, 16 April 1877, in accordance with the Western Shoshoni treaty of 21 October 1869, signed at Ruby Valley, 1 October 1863.

Publications--450 N. 4th Street, Boise, ID 83702--208-334-3428